Recent Posts



No tags yet.


The 27 signs of the Vedic Lunar Zodiac are probably the oldest astrological system of mankind.

This system is so rich in mythology and meaning that we can say that it provides a system of interpretation of its own. There is no reason why it should be subordinate to the system of the 12 "Sun signs".

This article contains of two parts.

In the first part I will look at some characteristics of the Nakshatra system. This will be particularly interesting for the more advanced student.

In the second part, I will give some examples of how to interpret charts based on the Nakshatras. I believe that part can also be digested by students who are beginners.If you like you can click here and go straightaway to this more easy to understand part.


In this part I will look at the Nakshatras from the point of view of:

The relationship to the navamsa, which is the chart of the soul The gunas, which represents qualities of energy. The four purposes of life. Some other characteristics of the Nakshatras 1. THE SIGNS OF THE PADAS AND THE RELATIONSHIP TO THE NAVAMSA

There are 27 Nakshatras. Every Nakshatra measures 13.20' (13 degrees and 20 minutes).

Each Nakshatra is divided into 4 parts of 3.20’ (3 degrees and 20 minutes). These parts are called padas.

Each pada has the characteristics of a sign of the zodiac, starting with Aries.

Therefore, the pada system can be seen as a system which integrates the Nakshatras with the commonly used zodiac.

In each Nakshatra there are 4 padas. Therefore, in 3 Nakshatras we have 12 padas. Because each pada represents a sign of the zodiac in a group of 3 Nakshatras we find the entire zodiac in the form of padasigns.

Now each sign of the zodiac covers 2 ¼ Nakshatras. That is 4 + 4 + 1 = 9 padas.

The navamsa is the 1/9 division of the zodiac. Therefore, there is connection between the padas and the navamsa. The connection is simple. If a planet is in the pada of Aries then it is in the navamsa in Aries. If it is in the pada of Taurus it is in the navamsa in Taurus and so on.

Therefore, the navamsasigns and the signs of the padas are the same.

The navamsa is the chart of the soul. It gives information about the state of the soul and thus of the inner life of the person.

Therefore, it can be said that the signs of the padas give information about the soul of a person.

If the rashi contains information about in which padas planets are located, there is no need for a separate printout of the navamsa. Navamsasigns and padasigns are the same.

You will find an overview of this system in the next table:

TABLE: PADAS OF THE FIRST NAKSHATRAS 1. Ashwini 0-13.20 Aries padalord 0-3.20 Aries pada of Aries Mars 3.20-6.40 Aries pada of Taurus Venus 6.40-10 Aries pada of Gemini Mercury 10-13.20 Aries pada of Cancer Moon 2. Bharani 13.20-26.40 Aries 13.20-16.40 Aries pada of Leo Sun 16.40-20.00 Aries pada of Virgo Mercury 20.00-23.20 Aries pada of Libra Venus 23.20-26.40 Aries pada of Scorpio Mars 3. Krittika 26.40-10 Taurus 26.40 Aries-0 Taurus pada of Sagittarius Jupiter 0-3.20 Taurus pada of Capricorn Saturn 3.20 -6.40 Taurus pada of Aquarius Saturn 6.40-10 Taurus pada of Pisces Jupiter 4. Rohini 10-23.20 Taurus 10-13.20 Taurus pada of Aries Mars 13.20-16.40 Taurus pada of Taurus Venus 16.40-20 Taurus pada of Gemini Mercury 20-23.20 Taurus pada of Cancer Moon 5. Mrigashirsha 23.20 Taurus -6.40 Gemini 23.20-26.40 Taurus pada of Leo Sun 26.40 Taurus- 0 Gemini pada of Virgo Mercury 0-3.20 Gemini pada of Libra Venus 3.20-6.40 Gemini pada of Scorpio Mars 2. THE THREE GUNAS

There are three gunas or types of energy.

First, there is Rajas. Rajas is the energyspark of the soul which is incarnating in the world. Rajas gives activity. Then there is Tamas. The soul, which comes into this world, immerses itself into materiality. Tamas is about materiality and the material world. After the soul has encountered materiality, it is time for the soul to liberate itself. The energy of liberation is called Sattva. Sattva is about going beyond the material world. It is about the soul wanting to return to its heavenly home. Each Nakshatra represents certain gunas. And it does so not only on one level, but on three levels.

FIRST LEVEL First, we have a group of 9 Nakshatras that represent Rajas energy on a primary level. These Nakshatras coincidence with the signs Aries, Taurus, Gemini and Cancer. Aries is the first firesign, Taurus the first earthsign, Gemini the first airsign and Cancer the first watersign. Then there comes a groups of 9 Nakshatras which represent Tamas on a primary level. These Nakshatras coincidence with the signs Leo, Virgo, Libra and Scorpio. Leo is the second firesign, Virgo the second earthsign, Libra the second airsign and Scorpio the second watersign. Finally, we have a group of 9 Nakshatras which represent Sattva on a primary level. These Nakshatras coincidence with the signs Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Sagittarius is the third firesign, Capricorn the third earthsign, Aquarius the third airsign and Pisces the third watersign. . SECOND LEVEL Now each group of 9 Nakshatras can be divided into 3 groups of 3 Nakshatras. This represents the gunas on a secondary level.

In each groups of 9 Nakshatras the first three Nakshatras represent Rajas on a secondary level, the second three Nakshatras represent Tamas on a secondary level and the third three Nakshatras represent Sattva on a secondary level. We see that the order of Rajas, Tamas and Sattva, which we saw at the primary level, repeats itself on this level.

THIRD LEVEL There are 3 groups of 9 Nakshatras. Because each group of 9 Nakshatras has been split into 3 groups of 3 Nakshatras we have a total of 9 groups which consist of 3 Nakshatras.

These groups of 3 Nakshatras represent the tertiary level. The first Nakshatra of such a group represents Rajas, the second Nakshatra Tamas and the third Sattva.

THE GUNAS AT THREE LEVELS What we have here is a rather complicated system in which each Nakshatra represents certain gunas on different levels.

Let us look at the first Nakshatra of Ashwini. On a primary level Ashwini represents Rajas,because the Nakshatra of Ashwini is in the range of the signs Aries to Cancer.

On a secondary level, Ashwini represents again Rajas, because it is part of the first group of 3 Nakshatras within the range of Aries to Cancer.

And also, on a tertiary level Ashwini represents Rajas, because it is the first Nakshatra of the first group of 3 Nakshatras.

Therefore we say that Ashwini is Rajas – Rajas – Rajas.

The next Nakshatra Bharani is Rajas – Rajas – Tamas

Only the tertiary level has changed.

Next comes Krittika which is Rajas – Rajas – Sattva.

Again only a change at the tertiary level.

Then we come to a new group of three Nakshatras, which causes for a change at the secondary level. This group does not have Rajas at the secondary level but Tamas.

Of course at the tertiary level, we start again with Rajas.</