18 FACTS;-

1-Human beings originate and disappear in time. Time has two forms – one is the infinite, eternal and Great Maha kaal. The other form of time is Full of positive traits and suitable for behavior. Its base is the Sun.

2-This time appears in a cycle under the Sun. Our earlier Scholars have decided this behavioral time to make the human life regular and well arranged. One cycle of the sun, moving in the Bhu chakra has been named as a Year. Practically, the smallest unit of the time is called the Kshana, vipal or a second.

3-Today the time is measured in hour, minute and second, but the Indian Astrologers had divided the time into Ahoratra, day, ghadi, pal, vipal, muhurta etc. Basic knowledge of the Indian units of the division of time is necessary for the students of Indian Astrology.

4-According to Indian system, the time taken in a blink of eye is called a Nimesh. 3 nimesh make up a kshana. 5 kshana make up a Kashtha(काष्ठ), 15 kashtha make up a Laghu, 15 laghu make a Ghati or Ghadi, which has

24 minutes. For convenience, two and a half ghati make up an hour and 60 ghati make up 24 hours.

5-For conversion of hour and minute into ghati-pal: -

1 minute = 2.5 pal, 4 minute = 10 pal, 12 minute = 30 pal, 24 minute = 1 ghadi, that is 60 ghati.

6-Dinman – from sunrise to sunset,

7-Ratriman- from sunset to next sunrise,

8-Ushakal – 5 ghati before sunrise,

9-Pratah – from sunrise upto 3 ghati,

10-Evening – from sunset upto 3 ghati,

11-Pradosh – from sunset upto 6 ghati,

12-Nisheeth – 2 ghati at the mid of midnight,

13-7 day-night =1 week, 15 ahoratra = 1 paksha

14-2 paksha = 1 chandra mas {lunar month},

15-2 months = 1 season,

16-6 season = 1 year

17-3 seasons = 6 months = 1 ayan,

18-2 ayan = 1 year