Recent Posts



No tags yet.


10 FACTS OF RAS SADHANA---- 1-The nine Rasas are the essential aspects or energies that define a set of emotions and moods that thus belong to the same "family" or Rasa. While the nine Rasas themselves are clearly defined energies affecting body and mind, the resulting emotions (Bhavas) manifest in many varieties and their understanding is affected by personal and cultural backgrounds. 2-Rasa Sadhana originated in the time before Hindu yogis started organizing themselves into more institutionalized akaras (schools) and ashrams (communities). Before that time, spiritual teaching happened in the gurukula, the family home of the teacher. These teachers were usually married and had children, so the teaching that took place connected directly to normal life. 3-Rasa Sadhana offers the householder an alternative spiritual path, which includes the Peace Rasa, but also teaches us how to find happiness and spiritual growth in the other Rasas. 4-This Rasa fasting does not require stepping outside of social life, nor does it require any extra time investment. If we can remain free from disturbing emotions during the day, then the meditation that we are able to do will be much more fruitful. Prolonged Rasa Sadhana also brings certain special powers called siddhi's. 5-When the less desirable Rasas have thus been brought under control, we can start fasting on the desirable Rasas, such as Peace, Love, Joy, Wonder, and Courage - staying in one of these moods for a particular time. Any Rasa Sadhana can also be adopted for a really long period or even for a lifetime. 6-Depending on our biochemistry, personal preferences, and temporary problems or opportunities, we may choose which Rasa to exercise. It is important to clearly establish the rules of a particular sadhana, because otherwise the sadhana can be very destructive to one's self-confidence. It is advisable to keep it short in the beginning and gradually increase the duration. 7-Mastering our thoughts is a lot more difficult than mastering our words and actions. One may limit a sadhana to words and actions to begin with. But the Rasa will never be mastered if our thoughts are not mastered and it is often easier to attack the Rasa at the root, the original thought. 8-Rasa Sadhana is not about suppressing emotions! Negative thoughts and emotions must be allowed sufficient expression for their origin to be properly analyzed. It is most of all this very analysis, which emphasizes the witnessing factor, that will dissolve any disagreable Rasa.

9-Rasa Sadhana is an ancient Tantric tradition of emotional fasting. We promise ourself that for a day or a week or longer we will not get involved with one of the less desirable Rasas or will fully focus on one of the more agreeable Rasas. 10-When doing Sadhana of Anger for example, whenever some irritation comes, just remembering our promise not to give in to Anger will create a distance between us and the angry feeling. That is often enough to dissolve the anger and if not, other tricks can be used to help dissolve it. Through such regular exercise, we learn that we really can master our nine Rasas, which rapidly will happen quite effortlessly. In order to perform this Rasa yoga, we need to understand what Rasas are and how each Rasa functions.

In TANTRA these 09 RASAS are the essence of all of our emotions ;----

1. LOVE /Sringara…

It is the ultimate Rasa. The king or queen emotion that heals anything. It frees the ego and connects us to devotion. When you appreciate beauty it connects you to the source of love. It is the creative play between Shiva and Shakti, sun and moon, yin and yang. The purpose of the universe it to experience this divine love. This love exists in everything. It is within each one of us and radiates out to the cosmos.

2. JOY /Harsya… This Rasa connects you to your humor, laughter, happiness and contentment. It is the extension of what you feel within love.

4-WONDER /Adhbuta… Curiosity, Mystery, Awe. When you become fascinated with the idea of life. It is your playfulness and innocence. You enter into complete appreciation and become an explorer or adventurer. It is magic! 4. COURAGE /Vira… Bravery, Confidence, Pride. When you call upon your the Warrior that lives inside you. It is strong and vibrant.

5. PEACE /Shanta… Deep calmness and relaxation. When you become still and quiet. In peace you become so full that you are empty. You will not find peace anywhere but within.

6. SADNESS /Karuna… When you can experience sadness and connect it back to the cosmos, you then experience compassion. Compassion is what connects us all. Through compassion we can relate deeply to each other. When ones sadness is truly experienced around a situation it can give a sense of completion. Grieving is a key aspect in healing.

7. ANGER /Raudra… In anger we go into the fire. One moment of anger can destroy lifetimes of good merit. Respect anger. When anger isn’t honored it can bring up irritation, violence, hatred. Feel the anger. Let it move through you. Breath into the fire.

8. FEAR /Bhayanaka… Doubt, Worry, Insecurity. When we live our lives in fear, we shut down completely.

9. DISGUST /Vibhasta… self pity, Loathing, self hatred. Only through a loving emotion can you heal and appease disgust. NOTE-----

1-There are nine birth of human &nine RAS. IT needs equalibrium.IN case of misuse that particular RAS is taken away or reduced-----so be aware. 2-Rasa Sadhana is a powerful yoga of our emotions that anybody can learn and teach. It may not bring enlightenment, but gets us quite a bit closer to happiness. It is a Wonderfully simple kind of magic. Rasas fasting can be easily integrated with other yoga paths and spiritual rituals to the benefit of both. Art and drama also have an important role to play in the communication of the nine Rasas on a feeling level. WHAT IS BHAKTI RAS?------

But bhakati rasa is the one which is revered most as all first 6--rasas can be attained through bhakati rasa .how to taste the nectar of bhakati rasa the following methods has been advocated ;

Bhakti is a Sanskrit term that signifies an attitude of devotion to a personal God that is similar to a number of human-human relationships (difference is that in bhakti relationships is soul-Supersoul, soul-God) such as beloved-lover, friend-friend, parent-child, and master-servant.

The Bhagavata Purana teaches nine primary forms of bhakti, as explained by Prahlada;-

(1) śravaṇa("listening" to the scriptural stories of Kṛiṣhṇa and his companions)

(2) kīrtana("praising," usually refers to ecstatic group singing)

(3) smaraṇa ("remembering"or fixing the mind on Viṣṇu)

(4) pāda-sevana (rendering service)

(5) archana (worshiping animage)

(6) vandana (paying homage)

(7) dāsya (servitude)

(8 ) sākhya (friendship) and

(9) ātma-nivedana(complete surrender of the self)

These nine principles of devotional service are described as helping the devotee remain constantly in touch with God.