Recent Posts



No tags yet.



08 FACTS;-

1-There are three states only;-

1-The waking,

2-Dream and


TurIya is not a fourth one; it is what underlies these three. But people do not readily understand it. Therefore it is said that this is the fourth state and the only Reality. 2-In fact it is not apart from anything, for it forms the substratum of all happenings; it is the only Truth; it is your very Being. The three states appear as fleeting phenomena on it and then sink into it alone. Therefore they are unreal. 3-TURIYA or the fourth state is that state in which the individual soul rests in his own Sat-Chit-Ananda Svarupa or the highest Brahmic consciousness during Nirvikalpa Samadhi.

4-In three states, Jiva is whirling in the mire of Samsara. Turiya is that state which transcends all these three states. Hence the Turiya or the fourth. Turiya is Atman or Brahman.

5-It is conceived of having four quarters for the sake of instruction to the seekers. By itself there are no divisions in the Atman. It is like the one Rupee Coin which has four quarters hidden in it but which is actually only one whole coin.VIZ.... A-The first quarter is the Waker who experiences the gross physical world. B-The second quarter is the Dreamer who experiences the subtle mind-projected world. C-The third quarter is the Deep-Sleeper who experiences the unmanifest world. D-The fourth quarter, also known as Turiya, is the Atman itself who experiences itself, by itself, in itself. In this state there is total absence of the world.

6-The world, along with the body, mind, intellect, does not exist at all. There is a total non-existence of anything other than the Atman. Thus taking the help of the three states, the fourth state is indicated. The three states are like the three letters of AUM and the fourth is like the silence. 7-In AUM lies silence but in the profound silence there is no AUM. AUM is superimposed on silence, but silence exists without AUM too. In the same way, the three states of waking, dream and deep sleep are superimposed on Turiya, but in Turiya, there are no states. It is pure undifferentiated homogeneous (all the same) mass of Existence Consciouness Bliss. This is the state of Enlightenment.

8-Having attained this state a person become free of all misconceptions. The world which was once accepted as real loses all it’s sense of reality. It is comprehended as an illusion having no basis at all. DESCRIPTION OF TURIYA;---

07 FACTS;-- 1-The traditional view is that turIya is the non-dual, unconditioned consciousness & Pure Consciousness. It is the Atman. As it is "unconditioned consciousness", it is nirguNa brahman, which is also referred to as the parabrahman. 2-The three states of consciousness namely waking, dreaming, and dreamless sleep (deep sleep) are characterized by two things: A- "Non-apprehension of reality" B- "Mis-apprehension of reality". "Reality" standing for turIya-Atman-Brahman. 3-Non-apprehension (anxiety about something )of Atman is the cause of ignorance. Mis-apprehension is the resultant effect which leads us to see ourselves and the world as other than we are - pure consciousness. For example, in the rope and snake analogy (similarity )often used in Vedanta, non-apprehension of the rope is the cause of ignorance as to its true nature.

4-Because of this non-apprehension we mistake it for a snake (mis-apprehension). As soon as we realize it is a really a rope, the snake disappears for it had no real existence apart from the rope, its substratum(A foundation).

5-In the same way, because we are ignorant of our true nature, we mistakenly identify ourselves with the body mind and see a separate world of objects. The sages tell us that when we recognize our true nature, turIya, then the duality of 'me' and 'other' (ego and world) disappears and non dual brahman is directly 'experienced' as alone existing. 6-The three states and which summarizes what is said above may be characterized as follows:--- A-TurIya (Atman): non-apprehension of duality; B-Prajna (deep sleep):--- non-apprehension of Reality and of duality; C-Taijasa (dream state):---- non-apprehension of and misapprehension of Reality; D-Vishva (waking state):--- non-apprehension of and misapprehension of Reality. 7-some of the Upanishads refer to five states: vishva, taijasa, prana, turIya and turyatita. For example:---- There are five AvasthA-s (states)-----

A-: jAgrat (waking),

2-Svapna (dreaming),

3-SuShupti (dreamless sleeping),

4-The turIya (fourth)

5-Turyatita (that beyond the fourth)... The Yogin is one that has realised Brahman that is all-full beyond turIya. WHAT IS TURYATITA ?--

07 FACTS;-- 1-The reference to turyatita has more to do with meditation practice than with the traditional view of metaphysics. Certain types of samAdhi (e.g. kevala nirvikalpa) don't really fit easily into the 3 states.

2-It seems kevala nirvikalpa samAdhi certainly isn't the 'waking' or 'dream' state, and it also doesn't quite equate with 'deep sleep' for the latter is characterized by 'non-apprehension' of Reality. Nor does it quite equate with direct realization of Atman and therefore liberation, as it is a temporary state. 3-Another reason for five states, rather than four, is due to the stage of establishing oneself in the Witness State and recognizing that 'I am' is not any of the other three states.

4-Perhaps here, the term 'turIya' is used to stand for the fourth state as the Witness State. However, the spiritual aspirant has yet to realize herself as the non-dual Brahman - a fifth 'state' (so called). Hence this latter stage is referred to as turyatita, beyond the fourth (turIya). 5-Why is the Self described both as the fourth state (turIya) and beyond the fourth state (turyatita)?--- 5-1-TurIya means that which is the fourth. The experiencers (jIva-s) of the three states of waking, dreaming and deep sleep, known as vishva, taijasa and prajna, who wander successively in these three states, are not the Self.

6-It is with the object of making this clear, namely that the Self is that which is different from them and which is the witness of these states, that it is called the fourth (turIya).

7-When this is known, the three experiencers disappear and the idea that the Self is a witness, that it is the fourth, also disappears. That is why the Self is described as beyond the fourth (turyatita). THE MEANING OF SAT CHID ANANDA;-- 1-Brahman is Sat-Chid-Ananda Vigraha or the embodiment of knowledge and bliss. He has no beginning or end. He is the cause of all causes. He is the shelter, support and the Lord for all. 2-Languages are many but the language of heart and the mental pictures are one. Cows have many colours but the colour of the milk is one. Prophets are many but he essentials of their teachings are one and the same. Schools of philosophy are many but the goal is one. Opinions and methods of worship are many but the Brahman or God is one. NAME TWO PATH OF YOGA;---- There are two paths in Yoga to realise the Self viz., the Pipeelika Marga and the Vihanga Marga.CONTD. .......SHIVOHAM...........