Recent Posts



No tags yet.



10 FACTS;-

1-Asamprajnata Samadhi / Nirbija / Nirbikalpa SamadhiThis is the highest form of Samadhi. This comes after Viveka-khyati or the final discrimination between Prakriti and Purusha. All the seeds or impressions are burnt by the fire of knowledge. This Samadhi brings Kaivalya or Absolute Independence.

2-This is the culmination or climax of Yoga, or final Prasankhyana which bestows the supreme, undying peace or knowledge. The Yogi enjoys the transcendental glories of the Self and has perfect freedom from the mental life. The sense of time is replaced by a sense of Eternity.In this Samadhi, there is neither Triputi nor Alambana. The Samskaras are fried in toto. This Samadhi alone can destroy birth end death and bring in highest knowledge and bliss

3-.When you get full success or perfection (Siddhi) in Raja yoga by entering into Asamprajnata Samadhi (Nirvikalpa State), all the Samskaras and Vasanas which bring on rebirths are totally fried up. All Vrittis or mental modifications that arise form the mind-lake come under restraint. 4-The five afflictions, viz., Avidya (ignorance), Asmita (egoism), Raga-dvesha (love and hatred) and Abhinivesha (clinging to life) are destroyed and the bonds of Karma are annihilated. This Samadhi brings on highest good (Nihsreyasa) and exaltation (Abhyudaya). It gives Moksha (deliverance form the wheel of births and deaths). With the advent of the knowledge of the Self, ignorance vanishes. With the disappearance of the root-cause, viz., ignorance, egoism, etc., also disappear.

5-In the Asamprajnata Samadhi, all the modifications of the mind are completely restrained. All the residual Samskaras are totally fried up. This is the highest Samadhi of Raja yoga. This is also known as Nirbija Samadhi (without seeds) and Nirvikalpa Samadhi.In this Samadhi, the Yogi sees without eyes, tastes without tongue, hears without ears, smells without nose and touches without skin. His Sankalpas can work miracles. He simply wills and everything comes into Being.

6-This state is described in Taittariya Aranyaka ;- "The blind man pierced the pearl, the fingerless put a thread into it; the neckless wore it and the touchless praised it."Eventually, the Purusha realises His own native state of Divine glory, Isolation or absolute Independence (Kaivalya). He has completely disconnected himself from the Prakriti and its effects. He feels his absolute freedom and attains Kaivalya, the highest goal of Raja Yoga.

7-All Klesha Karmas are destroyed now. The Gunas having fulfilled their objects of Bhoga and Apavarga now entirely cease to act. He has simultaneous knowledge now. The past and the future are blended into the present. Everything is "Now". Everything is "Here". He has transcended time and space. The sum-total of all knowledge of the three worlds, of all secular sciences is nothing but mere husk when compared to the Infinite knowledge of a Yogi who has attained Kaivalya.

8-This Samadhi is that which consists only of impressions being brought about by the constant practice of the cessation of mental modifications.

This is the highest Asamprajnata Samadhi which brings Kaivalya or Independence. Here there is no Alambana for the mind. It is rendered perfectly steady.

9-There is no Triputi here. This is not the Laya state or deep sleep. There is perfect awareness. This is a stage where a Yogi gets the highest knowledge. There is Prajna or pure consciousness. This is the state like ocean without waves. The only Sadhana for attaining this state is Para Vairagya. Rajas and Tamas are completely destroyed. When there is Ekagrata, Samprajnata Samadhi is possible. Asamprajnata Samadhi is possible when there is perfect Nirodhaof mind (Self restrained) . Para Vairagya brings complete rest to the mind. All Vrittis stop. This is the highest end of Raja Yoga which gives freedom.

10-In Samprajnata Samadhi there is only a partial inhibition of mental functions. Partial inhibition of the mental functions cannot totally uproot the seeds of rebirth. It cannot lead to final liberation wherein the seer rests in his own native, pristine, Divine Glory. Asamprajnata Samadhi destroys the impressions of all antecedent mental functions, and even goes so far as to tide over even Prarabdha. A Yogi has no Prarabdha at all. The mind having no object to grasp, becomes as it were, non-existent. This is Nirbija / Niralambana Samadhi.


There is a transition state between two levels of consciousness.The transition state of Asamprajnata Samadhi are as follows;-







05 FACTS;-

1-Nirvitarka Samadhi is that in which the mind shines as the object alone on the disappearance of memory and when the mind is, as it were, devoid of its own nature.

2-Among the different kinds of Samprajnata Samadhi;those gross forms of meditation, if you meditate by taking the elements out of time and space, and by thinking on them as they are, it will become Nirvitarka Samadhi (without argumentation).

3-This is a higher form of Samadhi than the previous one. Everything besides the complete idea of the object is forgotten in this Samadhi. The mind is not conscious of name, form, meaning or relation of the object. It is absorbed in one idea.

4-The faculty of memory is suppressed here as it brings association of name, form, meaning, relation, etc. In ordinary persons, it is difficult to separate the sound, meaning and the knowledge, as they occur with great rapidity.

5-A Yogi who practises Nirvitarka Samadhi will be able to distinguish clearly one from the other. The state described in this Sutra is perfect Nirvitarka Samadhi. The mind of the Yogi becomes very, very subtle on account of various practices in concentration and the development of qualities like Maitri, Karuna and Mudita. The disturbing Rajas and Tamas have been wiped out.


06 FACTS;-

1-By this (process) meditation with deliberation(carefully considered) and without deliberation with their objects as subtle, are also explained.

Just as the two kinds of argumentative concentration refer to the gross elements, so the two kinds of concentration with deliberation and without deliberation refer to subtle elements. Sananda and Sasmita are also included here. Vichara here means 'meditative state.' It is not the logical (Tarka) Vichara.

2-The province of the subtle objects;-The province of the subtle objects reach upto (or end with) Mula Prakriti.Behind all subtle objects is

Mula Prakriti, the primal cause. Pradhana is a terminology of the Sankhyas for Mula Prakriti. It means the 'chief'.

3-The other principles, Mahat, Ahamkara, Manas, Tanmatras and the gross elements are derived from this. Hence it has got this significant name. Vedantins call this unmanifested ('Avyaktam'), , undifferentiated ('Avyakritam') because the matter and energy are one here. They are not differentiated. All kinds of sounds also exist here in an undifferent