Recent Posts



No tags yet.


Patanjali defines two broad categories of samadhi:---


Nirbija is a Sanskrit term that literally means “without seed.” Thus, nirbija samadhi is sometimes translated as “samadhi without seed.” This indicates a state of enlightenment, or spiritual bliss, that is arrived at spontaneously. To be in nirbija samadhi is to experience absolute liberation from the attachments and thoughts of the mind.

2-SABIJA SAMADHI;-This is a Samadhi ''with a seed'' ,(Samskaras) ;where there is an object of meditation in the mind of yoga.The object of meditation is called a 'pratyaya' in Patanjali's terminology.There are two subtypes;--




1-VITARKA (reasoning);--Vitarka is subdivided into



2-VICHARA (reflection);-- Vichara is subdivided into



3-SANANDA (ecstasy)

4-ASMITA (a sense of ‘I’-ness).”


05 FACTS;-

1-Nirbija,Sabija,Asamprajñata,Samprajñata & six stages within the category of samprajñata samadhi ;

Thus, in this understanding of the division, there are

Ten types of samadhi.

2- All ten types of samadhi share in common the absorption of the yogi in the state of extreme concentration of the mind. What distinguished the ten types is that each occurs at a different level of consciousness. To understand the levels of consciousness, one must be aware of cosmologies that include the nonphysical worlds. The different forms of samadhi are mapped to both the 7-fold theosophical scheme and the 4-fold classical Vedanta scheme of the nonphysical worlds.

3-It is taught particularly in theosophy that one interacts with the nonphysical planes via nonphysical “bodies” or “vehicles”. The physical body is an instrument allowing the mind to interact with the physical universe. The nonphysical bodies allow the mind to interact with the nonphysical planes, and have names such as the “astral body”, “mental body”, etc.

4-However, it is immaterial whether we think of the different levels of consciousness as occurring via nonphysical bodies, or just think of them as different global states of consciousness. The effect is the same for all practical purposes.

5-Some of the methods of Raja Yoga serve to train the mind to operate at the different levels of consciousness. Other methods train the mind to transfer consciousness amongst the various levels. Therefore, four types of samadhi are distinguished by the level of consciousness at which samadhi is performed. Four types of samadhi are transition states between adjacent levels of consciousness. The remaining two types of samadhi are very special states of consciousness. .


08 FACTS;-

1-Nirbija samadhi is the highest state of samadhi, or spiritual bliss and Self-realization, in yoga and Buddhism. It is referred to in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras as the ultimate goal of Raja yoga.

2-In contemporary yoga, nirbija samadhi is sometimes considered to be synonymous with the activation of kundalini.

3-Some describe nirbija samadhi in terms of dualism, as a non-dual state of consciousness. When a yogi enters this state, he/she has transcended all illusions of duality and has seen through all projections of separation.

4-The experience of nirbija samadhi is, therefore, said to be one where the mind becomes radiant and formless, entirely free from conditioning, projection and attachment. It is a state of spiritual oneness, where the mind entirely dissolves.

5-There is no longer any distinguishing between the known and the knower, subject and object, or the seer and the seen.

Nirbija samadhi can also be described as the highest state of yoga and the embodiment, or end product, of all meditation.

6-From Relative To Absolute..At the asmita level, the yogi is now at the deepest possible level of conscious contents, the finest possible level of vrittis. There is nothing left of the pratyaya when asamprajnata samadhi is accomplished at the asmita level. A completely different effect results at this level of consciousness. The only thing present at this stage is pure, empty consciousness: only self-aware being. This is nirbija samadhi.

7-The yogi must struggle with this completely empty state of self-aware being until it is learned how to achieve the final stage.In the Yoga Sutras, the aphorisms pertaining to nirbija samadhi are abstract, obscure and almost incomprehensible.

8-Patanjali seems to say that, in the state of nirbija samadhi, one comes to experience the (seeming) emptiness between the moments of time. One learns eventually to perform samadhi on this emptiness between the moments of time. When this is successful, one has mastered dharma mega samadhi.One literally jumpsout of time and into eternity.


05 FACTS;-

1- Asamprajñata samadhi, “beyond higher knowledge,” a very high stage in which there is no object of concentration; Rather, the yogi’s consciousness is merged into absolute consciousness, Purusha.

2-Because only asamprajñata samadhi destroys the seeds of all samskaras remaining in the chitta (the mind-field) and thus gives ultimate freedom, or kaivalya, it is the only state that brings about an alteration of consciousness which is completely permanent.

3-Asamprajñata samadhi is extremely difficult to attainbecause o