Recent Posts



No tags yet.



05 FACTS;-

1-According to Swami Vivekananda "The Chitta is always trying to get back to its natural pure state, but the sense organs draw it out. To restrain it, to check this outward tendency, and to start it on the return journey to the essence of intelligence is the first step in Yoga, because only in this way can the Chitta get into its proper course.”

2-There are three substances Satva Rajas and Tamas; the combination of which makes Chitta. The more or less of each of these three decides the state of Chitta. There are five states - Bhumikas (manifestations) of Chitta.

1-MOODHA (Darkening);-

When Tamas is maximum the Chitta is totally in delusion and dullness. In this state it is prone to injury to others or also gives in to inertia(a tendency to do nothing) .In the Mudha state, the mind is dull and forgetful.

2-KSHIPTA (Scattering);-

When Rajoguna predominates along with Tamas the Chitta is as if thrown towards the objects of enjoyments. In the Kshipta state, the rays of the mind are scattered on various objects. It is restless and jumps from one object to another.

3-VIKSHIPTA (Gathering);-

Over the lives as the Jeeva passes through various experiences of enjoyments and then accompanying pains, gradually Satva develops and then Chitta dwells on certain subjects with all intensity, certain siddhis are also acquired. But this happens without systemic efforts. Thus this bhumika is also not of Yoga.Vikshipta is the gathering mind. It is occasionally steady and at other times distracted. By practice of concentration the mind struggles to gather itself.

4-EKAGRATA (One-pointed);-

The joy that was experienced in Vikshipta bhumika the Jeeva wants it again and again. It wants to center itself, know itself, know what is eternal and thus he takes to systematic practice of Yoga. The sense-enjoyment becomes secondary. Rajas and Tamas decline, chitta becomes purified and is able to concentrate on one object of Dhyana for longer. This is Samprajnata Samadhi. But even in this Vrittis for sense objects are in subtler form. In the Ekagra state, it is one-pointed. There is only one idea present in the mind.

5-NIRUDDHA (Restraining or concentrating); –

When all Vrittis are completely restrained then it is Niruddha bhumika of Chitta. This ultimately takes one to Nirbija Samadhi destroying the cause for the next birth.The mind is under control in the Niruddha state.


A-The first and second bhumikas are supposed to be of Asuras (of people of Asuric Vrittis) Third one is natural to Devas. And fourth and fifth are of Yogis.

If we understand these five bhumikas of Chitta we know that till one attains to Chitta Vritti Nirodha there is always a possibility of fall. And thus just because someone can meditate well or has some experiences or had even some experience of deep meditation, he should not conclude that he or she is above all.

B-Till one reaches the Nirodha state one has to be alert also and perform one’s duty to the Samashti.Only when one reaches the Nirodha state of Chitta then one can say that his/her practice of Yoga is complete.

Only after Nirodha, the seer rests in own state, in that Oneness. Otherwise the Sadhaka is identified with Vrittis-modifications, and so the result is misery.Concentration(Dharana )is practised for stopping the modifications of the mind;It is holding the mind to one form or object steadily for a long time.